Vietnam Law & Legal Forum Magazine is your gateway to the law of Vietnam

Official Gazette

Wednesday, September 28, 2022

Flag raised in Hanoi to mark ASEAN’s 55th founding anniversary

Updated: 12:42’ - 08/08/2022
The Ministry of Foreign Affairs organized a ceremony in Hanoi on August 8 to fly the ASEAN flag in celebration of the bloc’s 55th founding anniversary (August 8, 1967) and 27th anniversary of Vietnam’s accession to the regional organization (July 28, 1995).  

The ASEAN flag is hoisted at a ceremony in Hanoi__Photo: VNA

The ceremony was chaired by Foreign Minister Bui Thanh Son, and attended by Ambassadors of ASEAN countries and ASEAN partners, along with local officials.

The annual ASEAN flag hoisting ceremony is held in each ASEAN member state to honor their common values and express the determination to promote solidarity and cooperation.

At the ceremony__Photo: VNA

This year’s event is of greater significance since the region is working towards the establishment of the ASEAN Community at the end of 2015 and Vietnam is marking its 20th year of ASEAN membership. 

The ASEAN flag’s colors - blue, red, white and yellow - represent the main colors of the member countries’ flags. It symbolizes unity and support for the bloc’s principles and mission, and represents a stable, peaceful, united and dynamic ASEAN.

Addressing the ceremony, Minister Son said the foundation of ASEAN 55 years ago created the precedence for regional countries to realize their aspiration for a peaceful, stable region with sustainable and inclusive development.

FM Minister Bui Thanh Son addresses the ceremony__Photo: VNA

ASEAN countries can be proud of what they have achieved so far towards their noble goal, meeting the aspiration of nearly 700 million people in the region, he said.

To successfully realize the target and the ASEAN Vision, the minister said the ASEAN Community should intensify efforts to consolidate the foundation for fast, sustainable and comprehensive post-pandemic recovery.  

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) comprises Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.-(VNA/VLLF)


Send Us Your Comments:

See also:


Vietnam Law & Legal Forum