Vietnam Law & Legal Forum Magazine is your gateway to the law of Vietnam

Official Gazette

Sunday, June 11, 2023

Vietnam to become upper middle-income country by 2030

Updated: 17:00’ - 31/10/2022
Vietnam targets to become a developing country with modern industry and upper middle income by 2030, and a developed and high-income country with equal, democratic and civilized society by 2050.

A bird’s eye view of Can Tho city, the development momentum of the Mekong River delta__Photo: VNA

As set forth in the Government’s Resolution 138/NQ-CP, approving the national overall master plan for the 2021-30 period, with a vision toward 2050, the country’s GDP growth rate is expected to reach seven percent per year in the 2021-30 period, with the Southeastern and Mekong River delta expected to grow at the fastest rate of 8-8.5 percent per year.

By 2030, the per-capita GDP in current prices will increase to around USD 7,500. Services will contribute to 50 percent of the national GDP, industry-construction will account for over 40 percent, while agro-forestry-fishery sectors will make up less than 10 percent.

Meanwhile, the digital economy is expected to make up 30 percent of the GDP with the development of digital government, digital economy and digital society.

At the same time, Vietnam’s human development index (HDI) will be maintained at 0.7 and the country expects to be among the top 10 countries having the best education services in Asia, with the number of tertiary students per every 10,000 people reaching 260.

Besides, the average housing floor area per person will increase to at least 32 square meters.

By 2050, the per-capita GDP in current prices will rise to USD 27,000-32,000, and  the urbanization rate will be 70-75 percent, with the GDP growth rate maintained at 6.5-7.5 percent annually during the 2031-50 period.

Under the Resolution, the country will speed up the space development in six regions of the northern midland and mountainous region (14 provinces), the Red River delta (11 provinces and cities), the northern central coast (14 provinces and cities), the Central Highlands (five provinces), the southeastern region (six provinces and cities) and the Mekong River delta (13 provinces and cities).- (VLLF)


Send Us Your Comments:

See also:


A “painting” on rice fields in Tam Coc